Saturday, 14 December 2013

Welsh Masters and inter-regional XC


Brother and sister Iolo and Cari Hughes (Menai) did the "double" at the Welsh inter-regional cross-country championships in Builth Wells, both winning their events.

 Cari completed her own "double" as she retained the under-15s' title which she won last year, while Iolo extended his glittering form. In recent weeks he has won the North Wales 5-mile championship and finished third in the UK Cross Challenge event in Liverpool.

 As expected, North Wales dominated the under-15 boys' competition. The Wrexham pair of Christian Smith and Matthew Willis renewed their on-going rivalry, with the former again getting the better of things.

 With Smith 1st, Willis 2nd, Oliver Barbaretti (Menai) 4th and strong support from the likes of Cai Linton-Davies (Menai) and Joseph Crutchley (Maldwyn) North Wales took the team title.

 In the under-20 ladies' event Georgia Garner (Colwyn Bay) put up a real fight but was beaten by the in-form Ffion Price (Brecon).

 Katie Parry (Leeds) just missed out on the medals, finishing fourth in the senior ladies' race, which was won by Swansea triathlete Andrea Whitcombe, the reigning Welsh cross-country champion. Debbie Williams (Menai) gave a further glimpse of her talent in coming fifth.

 In the senior men's race Maldwyn's Andrew Davies was well off the lead for much of the time but came through very strongly to claim victory. Daniel Weston (Wrex) was 13th and Daniel Kashi (Eryri) 15th but unfortunately the team had only five finishers.

 The North's veterans also had considerable success, with Lee Jones (Deeside) and Andy Walling (Menai) 2nd and 3rd respectively in the M40 class.

 Among the top finishers in their age-groups were:- Boys under 13: 8 Sion Jones (Colwyn Bay). Boys under 15: 1 C Smith (Wrex), 2 M Willis (Wrex), 4 O Barbaresi (Menai), 7 C Linton-Davies (Menai), 9 Joseph Crutchley (Mald), 13 Thomas Evans (Wrex). Men under 17: 1 Iolo Hughes (Menai), 9 Ben Paxton (Wrex). Men under 20: 3 Nathan Jones (Eryri), 5 Gwynant Jones (Cardiff), 12 Alex Lanz (Meir), 15 Jacob Griffith (CB). Senior men: 1 Andrew Davies (Mald), 13 Daniel Weston (Wrex), 15 Daniel Kashi (Eryri). M40-59: 2 Lee Jones (Deeside), 3 A Walling (Menai), 6 J Brown (Buckley), 10 John Ford (NWRR).  Girls under 13: 5 Holly Roberts (CB), 11 Ceri Vaughan (CB). Girls under 15: 1 Cari Hughes (Menai). Ladies under 17: 4 Mollie Davies (Menai), 11 Chloe Evans (Mald). Ladies under 20: 2 Georgia Garner (CB). Senior ladies: 4 Katie Parry (Leeds), 5 Debbie Williams (Menai), 9 Becky Law (Eryri). L35-44: 7 Wendy Trimble (Eryri), 11 Naomi Cane (Prestatyn).

 Sadly, the North missed out on several team prizes because they were unable to field a full complement in the age-groups thanks to the withdrawal and non-appearance of so many of those selected.

 With the competition incorporating the Welsh Masters' championships other medal winners included Gordon Jones (Prestatyn, 3rd M55), David Hughes (Prestatyn, 1st M75), Gabby Waring (Prestatyn, 2nd L55) and Chris Birch (Abergele, 1st L65).


No comments:

Post a Comment